Nozzle hitting print bed even though completely leveled?

Hi, I am new here and very new to 3d printing. My husband and I built an Alunar M508 Prusa i3 and we are having all kinds of trouble. Long story short, we have made sure everything is square, leveled the bed manually, and when we start a print the nozzle starts out fine then digs into the bed. We are going with a cold bed for now, using crepe tape, and we are using PLA at 200C. We used a feeler gauge to level the bed, have reinstalled the firmware (martin), and easily have 100 hours into this.

We are both mechanically and computer inclined, he is an electrician and mechanic and I am a 20 year IT veteran and network engineer, and we are both about as frustrated as we can get. Any help would be very, very appreciated before we chuck the whole thing into the lake we live on, literally.

EDIT: We were using a file from Pinshape when this happened. We decided to run a print from the test prints that came with the printer and the problem did not occur. Is this potentially a slicing issue? I used Cura 15.04 to slice.

EDIT TWO: A few minutes into the test print I hear blue language from hubby, The print started to glob, He isists that .1mm is too close, and I said that is the recommendation but he insists on .2mm bed leveling. Is 2mm causing us trouble too? We have been using .2mm from the start because he is sometimes rather stubborn.