[Help] Printing in semi-transparent material

Hello!
I’m new to 3D printing but I had this idea of printing a lamp.
The problem is I don’t know what kind of material to print on or what thickness it should have in order for light to pass through. I’m aiming to model Baymax from Big Hero 6 so the material would have to be whiteish.
I would appreciate your help in any aspect.

Thank you in advance :smile:

What type of fixture do you plan on attaching it to? A lamp(=lamp shade)?, or adding small light inside of it, thereby making it the lamp?
PLA - white, 3shells,should work fine.(0 infill),(0 bottom layers, unless you are going to make your model have a base, with an opening).
Add some vent holes to the top of your model, so the heat can get out.
An LED bulb would be safer, than an incandescent bulb, as they don’t produce a lot of heat.

Hey! Thanks for the response.
I’m planning to add a small light inside of it and making it the lamp. I’m thinking about printing something like a bust of the character with a hole on the bottom so that the wiring can get out. What do you mean by 3 shells and 0 infill? I’m fairly new to this :S

Warning: This will be long :slight_smile: If you are just going to design it, then only read the 1st paragraph. But, if you are going to print it, and want to start learning how to 3d print, then read it all, 3or4 times, and it will start to make sense, when you are ready to try.
1st, be aware that terminology differs, for every software program(s)
(eg: car,auto,ride,wheels,transportation, etc…) So try to get advice from ppl that are using the same programs that you are.

Design work is done from 2 different approaches. Non-functional (Modeling) and Functional(CAD).
Non-functional, is for characters or simple objects. You are just creating a digital skin. Precision is not important, it just needs to look good.
Functional, is for mechanical parts, that need precise measurements, and strength.