Opinion on buying a reprap kit (without printed parts)

First time on forums, but wanted an opinion.

I want a cheap reprap kit with rods and everything included except for the printed parts. I have a print and play printer right now, so I’ve had some experience with taking apart and putting back together various parts. I do want to put together my own reprap now that I’m more comfortable with 3d printing.

I see a lot of kits on wholesalers from China, and I don’t mind a bit of tinkering. But I can’t seem to find a kit that includes the rods? I can 3D print out the parts that need to be printed (and honestly, I’d like to do this myself with my trusted filament). Any suggestions? Past experiences? Some of these kits look dirt cheap: https://www.3dprintersonlinestore.com/diy-kit

Have you checked out any ok the diy kits listed here: 3dhubs 2016 ?

The one thing I can say about sourcing pre-built printers or kits is that they may or may not be using outdated electronics and hence outdated firmware which could be a hassle if not impossible to update. It is generally easy enough to replace the electronics with something different however it is just an added cost.

Make sure the kit is using an Arduino Mega or at least Arduino compatible board. If you see something that is using unique electronics, make sure you search around to see if it is a current model or can be upgraded easily.

I would also like to recommend visiting the RepRap.org website as they list a handful of open source designs that you can build. Some are more straight forward then others though so you will have to size them up. I personally chose to build the Adapto as it had a simple construction and fairly decent documentation.

I definitely recommend building a printer yourself as it gives you a much greater appreciation and understanding of how it all works. Good luck and let us know what you have decided.

Jason